Out of Mind

Published May 4, 2012 by vfAith

Dear Heavenly Father,

For the first time I was able to answer the question “Why does God refer to Himself as Father when there are so many bad father’s in the world?”  The answer is as simple as because He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  You did not make humans, then after watching their interaction decide to call Yourself Father.  You started this world as Father God, Son of God, and Spirit of God.  Thank You Jesus for that realization.  Once again You show Yourself an example to us humans on how to live with each other in love.

Now Father, I come to You with a different kind of prayer.  One that doesn’t ask You to change the person (as I have done for many years because I thought “if I can’t change the person You can” but the thing is You don’t want to change the person; instead You want the person to live as You have created them in the first place; You Lord want to restore the person). No this prayer is to ask You to pour love on those who do drugs.  My Savior, You didn’t put a limit on those You were dying on the cross for.  You didn’t spill Your blood in a certain direction so that only people in that path could get saved.  You did what You did at the wooden upright lowercase ‘t’ for all the world, every creature.

There are some creatures in my world that I would like for You to show what the shedding of Your blood did for them.  Right now, I am reminded of a song that my dear friend wrote.  She sang “You hung there, loving, bleeding, dying for me/You saw me”.  And just like You saw her Father God you see those at my work place who are addicted to drugs and alcohol.  They are in a constant need for more of that which can’t ever help them.  Lord Your love can uplift them higher than any drug.  Your love can drown out pain better than any bottle.  You want for them to live life with a hope.  Yet it seems Lord that they will never find that hope outside of You.  So use me Father!  Use me as Your ambassador of love, hope and truth.  As I read today in 1 Timothy 4:11, let me be “an example…in speech, in life in love, in faith, and in purity” (NIV).  Not only do I ask to be an example, but Father open their eyes so they can see the Christ Who loves and sees them and their struggle.

Thank You for hearing my cry dear Holy One.

Love,

Your Loved Friend

Leave a Reply

